SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES August 25, 2014

The meeting was called to order at 7:35 p.m. by Kathy Seilheimer, school board president. Board members present: Wayne Dachel, Ange Kellen, Tim Nelson, Kathy Seilheimer and Tim Trowbridge.

Tim Trowbridge nominated Kathy Seilheimer to act as chairperson of the annual meeting. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Motion by Tim Nelson to close the nominations. Seconded by Wayne Dachel. Approved by all present.

Tim Trowbridge nominated Jan Kunstmann to act as clerk for the annual meeting. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Motion by Tim Nelson to close the nominations. Seconded by Ange Kellen. Approved by all present.

Motion by Jan Kunstmann to waive the reading of the Audit Statement prepared by certified public accountants CliftonLarsonAllen and to accept the statement as presented in the Annual Meeting Booklet. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

Motion by Jan Kunstmann to waive the reading of the minutes of the 2012-2013 Annual Meeting that was held on 8/26/13 and to accept the minutes as presented in the Annual Meeting Booklet. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

The 2014-2015 Budget Recommendation was presented by Administrator Brian Henning.

Motion by Veda Reed to move the date of the Annual Meeting until after the third Friday student headcount in September. Seconded by Patti Proehl. In favor: 10, Opposed: 16. Motion did not pass.

Motion by Dan North to levy a school tax of \$3,162,112 for the 2014-15 School year for operations, debt service and community service. Seconded by Art Kunstmann. Approved by a majority present. (By statue the Board is authorized to adjust the levy based on the third Friday in September enrollment, the October 1, 2014, property valuation and the October 15, 2014 state aid amount.)

Motion by Dan North to authorize the board to sell school property no longer in use. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

Motion by Dan North to provide a food service program. Seconded by Art Kunstmann. Approved by all present.

Motion by Bonnie Halberg to furnish textbooks for students. Seconded by Michele Crooker. Approved by all present.

Motion by Jim North to purchase and service vehicles for use in the district. Seconded by Dan North. Approved by all present.

P. 2 of 2

SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES August 25, 2014

Motion by Art Kunstmann to borrow funds, if necessary, on a short term basis to meet expenses of operations. Seconded by Jim North. Approved by all present.

Motion by Tim Nelson to hire attorneys and pay necessary legal fees. Seconded by Steve Shackleton. Approved by all present.

Motion by Dan North to keep board member salaries at the current level. Present annual salaries are: President: \$1900, V.P., Clerk, Treasurer and Member \$1800. Seconded by Art Kunstmann. Approved by all present.

Motion by Jim North to pay expenses related to board travel outside the district by \$150 per diem when required. \$75 per half day or night for travel outside or inside the district during the school year. Seconded by Sandra Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

Administrator Brian Henning informed the audience that the district took advantage of Act 32 which made use of the Energy Exemptions clause on the school revenue limit formula. Through this process the district was able to increase the energy efficiency in the areas of water, lighting, building envelope and heating. Upgrades to the building air conditioning were done in conjunction with this project. \$1 million of bonds were sold and the proceeds used to pay for the energy projects. The bonds will be paid back over a 15 year period at an average interest rate of 2.98%. Beginning in 2015-16 and for the next 15 years the revenue limit will be reduced by the amount of cost savings experienced from the project during the prior year. No savings were experienced during the 2013-14 school year because the project finished in August of 2014. Act 32 allows school boards to pass a resolution to spend up to \$1 million on energy efficient projects without holding a referendum vote.

Motion by Jan Kunstmann to adjourn at 9:00 p.m. Seconded by Michele Crooker. Approved by all present.

Kathleen Seilheimer
Chairperson, Annual Meeting
Jan Kunstmann
Clerk, Annual Meeting