SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN

October 26, 2015 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

Meeting called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Tim Trowbridge, President.

Present: Wayne Dachel, Bill Jarvis, Ange Kellen, Patty Reed Proehl and Tim Trowbridge. Also, Scott Johnson, Cory Martens and Jan Kunstmann.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

- -Motion by Dachel to adopt the agenda. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Jarvis to approve minutes of the September 23, 2015 regular school board meeting. Seconded by Dachel. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Kellen to approve minutes of the October 5, 2015 special school board meeting. Seconded by Proehl. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Dachel to approve record of receipts for September totaling \$133,896.89. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Jarvis to approve payments totaling \$250,335.88. Seconded by Trowbridge. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote. Details are as follows:

Accounts Payable checks #50305-50412	\$142,012.79
Voided checks: #50250,50256,50285,50287,50333	
10/2/15 Regular Payroll Trans #15841-15912 & chk# 23916	\$ 60,917.95
10/16/15 Regular Payroll Trans #15913-15986 & chk# 23917	\$ 63,095.86

Old Business - None

New Business

a) Amend the 2015-2016 Budget -

Motion by Jarvis to amend the 2015-2016 budget that was previously adopted at the annual meeting in August and to print the "Notice of Change in the Adopted Budget" in the newspaper. Seconded by Trowbridge. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

b) Approve the 2015-2016 Budget -

Motion by Kellen to approve the 2015-2016 budget in the amount of \$5,192,870 for expenses and \$5,176,309 for revenues in all funds including the scholarship fund 72. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

c) Set the 2015-2016 Levy –

Motion by Kellen to set the 2015-2016 levy at \$3,321,188 with a mill rate of 11.75678. \$2,918,076 Fund 10; \$77,228 Fund 38, \$318,709 Fund 39 and \$7,175 Fund 80. Seconded by Dachel. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

d) Web Page Surveys –

Motion by Jarvis to table any action until next board meeting. Seconded by Proehl.

October 26, 2015 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

e) School Van-

Three bids were received for a van. Motion by Jarvis to purchase a school van from Gilberts of Sand Creek for \$18,000. Seconded by Trowbridge. Motion carried roll call vote: Jarvis: yes; Trowbridge: yes; Dachel: yes; Proehl: no; Kellen: yes.

f) Bleachers for Elementary Gym – Discussion.

g) Safe Routes to School (SRTS) -

Motion by Dachel to be included in the SRTS planning grant for \$2,000. Seconded by Trowbridge. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

h) Purchase of Mobile Netbook Cart -

Motion by Jarvis to purchase a mobile netbook charging cart and 32 H.P. laptops for \$6,803. Seconded by Dachel. Motion carried 4-1 voice vote.

Motion by Proehl to recess to the expulsion hearing. Seconded by Dachel. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

Recessed to expulsion hearing at 7:17 p.m.

Convened to the regular board meeting after conclusion of the expulsion hearing at 9:05 p.m.

Closed Session- Motion by Dachel to convene to closed session under WI SS 19.85(1) (c) to discuss staff matters and under WI SS 19.85(1) (f) and (b) to discuss student issues. Seconded by Kellen. Motion carried roll call vote: Jarvis, yes; Trowbridge, yes; Dachel, yes; Proehl, yes; Kellen, yes.

Convened to closed session at 9:05 p.m.

Convene to open session at 9:15 p.m.

Action on Any Items following closed session:

a) New Hires, Resignations and Leave Requests –

- -Motion by Trowbridge to accept resignations of Diane and Alex Vaughn from Jr Hi track coaching. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Proehl to hire Karissa Giller as Student Council Advisor and Forensic Advisor. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- -Motion by Kellen to hire Joe Haines as Jr High Boy's Basketball coach. Seconded by Proehl. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.
- b) Other Staffing Considerations- none
- c) Student Disciplinary matters- none

Motion by Trowbridge to adjourn at 9:17 p.m. Seconded by Jarvis. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

Timothy Trowbridge, President
New Auburn School Board

Ange Kellen, Clerk
New Auburn School Board