# SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES August 24, 2015

Meeting called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Tim Trowbridge, board president.

Board Members Present: Wayne Dachel, Ange Kellen, Bill Jarvis, Patty Reed Proehl and Tim Trowbridge. Also, Scott Johnson, Cory Martens and Jan Kunstmann.

# Pledge of Allegiance

#### **Elect President and Clerk-**

-Tim Nelson Nominated Tim Trowbridge to act as chairperson of the annual meeting. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

-Tim Trowbridge nominated Jan Kunstmann to act as clerk for the annual meeting. Seconded by <u>Bill</u> Jarvis. Motion by Tim Nelson to close the nominations. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

# Read District's Financial Audit Statement-

Motion by Jan Kunstmann to waive the reading of the Audit Statement prepared by certified public accountants CliftonLarsonAllen and to accept the statement as presented in the Annual Meeting Booklet. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

# Approve Minutes of the 2013-2014 Annual Meeting

Motion by Jan Kunstmann to accept the minutes of the 2013-2014 Annual Meeting that was held on 8/25/14 as presented in the Annual Meeting Booklet. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

**Scott Johnson presented the 2015-2016 Budget to the public.** Scott stated that the School District is in very good financial condition and the fund balance is at a good level. The District has never needed to short term borrow to pay its bills. The value of the District's debt is only 11% of the total amount of debt that is allowed. The previous board and administration did a great job caring for the financial health of this District.

# Motion to Levy School Tax-

Motion by Tim Nelson to levy a school tax of \$3,249,305 for the 2015-16 School year for operations (\$2,847,843), debt service (Fd 38 \$77,578, Fd 39 \$318,709) and community service (\$5,175). Seconded by Sandra Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

(By statue the Board is authorized to adjust the levy based on the third Friday in September enrollment, the October 1, 2015, property valuation and the October 15, 2015 general aid calculation.)

#### Motion to Authorize the Board to do the following per Wisconsin Statute 120:

a. Motion by Tim Nelson to authorize the board to sell school property no longer in use. Seconded by Jim Lorentz. Approved by all present.

# SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES August 24, 2015

b. Motion by Jim Lorentz to authorize the board to acquire real estate through purchase or condemnation provided that they create an advisory committee to get public input prior to the purchase. Seconded by Ralph Deluga. Approved by all present.

c. Motion by Tim Nelson to provide a food service program. Seconded by Bonnie Halberg. Approved by all present.

d. Motion by Ange Kellen to furnish textbooks for students. Seconded by Bill Jarvis. Approved by all present.

e. Motion by Jan Kunstmann to purchase and service vehicles for use in the district. Seconded by Art Kunstmann. Approved by all present.

f. Motion by Lynn Trowbridge to borrow funds, if necessary, on a short term basis to meet expenses of operations. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

g. Motion by Michele Crooker to hire attorneys and pay necessary legal fees. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

#### Motion to Fix Salaries of Board Members-

Motion by Tim Nelson to raise the board member salaries by \$100 per year. Adjusted annual salaries would be: President: \$2,000, V.P., Clerk, Treasurer and Member \$1900. Seconded by Jan Kunstmann. Approved by a majority present. (9 Yes vs. 6 No)

#### Motion to Pay Expenses for Board Travel

Motion by Jim Lorentz to pay expenses related to board travel inside or outside the district at the rate of \$150 for both full and half days when required for school business. Seconded by Tim Nelson. Approved by all present.

# **Discussion Pertaining to the 2015-2016 School Year -** none **Any Other Business –none**

-Motion by Tim Nelson to adjourn at 8:45 p.m. Seconded by Kathy Seilheimer. Approved by all present.

Tim Trowbridge, Chairperson

Jan Kunstmann, Clerk