# SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN January 11, 2017 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

Meeting called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Tim Trowbridge, President.

Present: Bill Jarvis, Ange Kellen, Wayne Dachel, Patty Reed Proehl and Tim Trowbridge. Also, Scott Johnson, Cory Martens and Jan Kunstmann.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

-Dachel motioned and Proehl seconded to adopt the agenda. Motion carried 5-0.

-Proehl motioned and Jarvis seconded to approve minutes of the December 14, 2016 regular school board meeting. Motion carried 5-0.

-Jarvis motioned and Kellen seconded to approve record of receipts for December totaling \$124,586.02. Motion carried 5-0.

-Dachel motioned and Proehl seconded to approve payments totaling \$323,735.80. Motion carried 5-0. Details are as follows: Accounts Payable checks #51666-51767: \$204,721.55; voided checks #51686. 12/23/16 Payroll transactions #18142-18213 \$60,207.38 1/6/17 Payroll transactions #18214-18281 \$58,806.87

# **SPECIAL REPORTS – none**

# **OLD BUSINESS**

A. WASB School Governance Survey-Discussion.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

#### A. Support Staff Handbook

-Dachel motioned and Kellen seconded to approve the Support Staff Handbook as presented in second reading with one minor change. Motion carried 5-0.

#### B. Discuss WASB Convention – Delegate Role – Discussion.

# C. Policies 1<sup>st</sup> Reading

# - Enrollment and Open Enrollment Caps

-Jarvis motioned and Dachel seconded to approve the regular education and special education spaces for residents and open enrollment students as presented by Director of Special Education, Brian Lundgren, and Principal Martens. Motion carried 5-0.

-Police Interviewing Students – Discussion – No change to policy #5540.

D. Land Lease Agreement- Discussion.

-Administrative Reports – Discussed Gov. Walkers budget proposal and upcoming speakers Justin Patchin on cyber bullying and Tim Knutson on WWII Pilots.

# SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN January 11, 2017 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

-Special Communications – School Board Convention.

-Introduction of Guests: There was one guest present.

-Jarvis motioned and Dachel seconded to go to closed session at 7:00 p.m. under WI SS 19.85(1)(c). Roll call vote 5-0. Convene to open session at 7:25 p.m.

#### Action on Any Items following closed session: A. Resignations-

-Proehl motioned and Dachel seconded to accept the resignation of Jim Skuban as Tech Ed Teacher. Motion carried 5-0 voice vote.

#### **B.** New Hires –none.

-Proehl motioned and Dachel seconded to go to closed session at 7:30 p.m. under WI SS 19.85(1)(c). Roll call vote 5-0. Convene to open session at 7:50 p.m.

#### C. Administrative Evaluations-Discussion.

#### **D.** Administrative Contract–

Contracts for Administration automatically renew each year by January 31 unless the school board acts to interrupt the automatic renewal language. The board signed contracts for Cory Martens and Scott Johnson covering the period 2017-2019.

Proehl motioned and Jarvis seconded to adjourn at 7:51 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.

Timothy Trowbridge, President New Auburn School Board Ange Kellen, Clerk New Auburn School Board