SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN May 17, 2017 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

Meeting called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Tim Trowbridge, President.

Present: Shannon Berg, Wayne Dachel, Bill Jarvis, Patty Reed Proehl and Tim Trowbridge. Also, Scott Johnson, Cory Martens and Jan Kunstmann.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

-Dachel motioned and Jarvis seconded to adopt the agenda. Motion carried 5-0.

-Proehl motioned and Berg seconded to approve minutes of the April 24, 2017 regular school board meeting. Motion carried 5-0.

-Dachel motioned and Proehl seconded to approve minutes of the May 2, 2017 special school board meeting. Motion carried 5-0.

-Jarvis motioned and Berg seconded to approve the record of receipts for April totaling \$83,837.78. Motion carried 5-0.

-Proehl motioned and Jarvis seconded to approve payments totaling \$312,803.31 for the period since the last school board meeting. Motion carried 5-0. Details are as follows: Accounts Payable checks #52080-52161: \$192,020.78; voided checks: 52077, 52078. 4/28/17 Payroll transactions #18800-18874 \$62,210.55 5/12/17 Payroll transactions #18875-18946 \$58,571.98

SPECIAL REPORTS:

-2017-2018 Budget Update – Discussion.

OLD BUSINESS 2016-2017 Budget Update – Discussion

Unpaid Lunch Policy 8500.1 in Second Reading-

-Jarvis motioned and Dachel seconded to approve the Unpaid Lunch Policy 8500.1 in second reading. Motion carried 5-0.

NEW BUSINESS

Community Foundation of Chippewa County –

-Prochl motioned and Jarvis seconded to table the Community Foundation of Chippewa County becoming the fiscal agent of our scholarship funds until the donors are advised of the proposed changes. Motion carried 4-1.

Purchase of a School Van – Discussion.

Approve 2017-18 Staffing Pattern -

-Dachel motioned and Berg seconded to approve the 2017-18 staffing pattern as presented with the exception of the Intervention Specialist. Motion carried 5-0.

SCHOOL DISTRICT OF NEW AUBURN May 17, 2017 Regular School Board Meeting Minutes

Consideration of Employee Wages -discussed in closed session.

Administrative Reports- Discussion.

Special Communications-

School Improvement Committee Reports – All eight of the school improvement committee chairs (or their designee) provided their goals and achievements: Zach Hirschman-Promoting Student Achievement Committee, Joe Haines-Social Media Committee, Karissa Giller-Student Enrichment Committee, Bonnie Baker–Extra-Curricular Committee, Deb Davis-Facility and Fiscal Management Committee, Cindy Sheskey-Technology Committee, Jill Berg–Committed Employees Committee, and Cheyane Merz–Family-Business-Community Partnerships Committee.

Introduction of Guests: There were twelve guests present.

Closed Session-Jarvis motioned and Dachel seconded to go to closed session at 8:15 p.m. under WI SS 19.85(1)(c). Roll call vote 5-0. Convene to open session at 8:45 p.m.

Action on Any Items following closed session:

Resignations –

-Proehl motioned and Jarvis seconded to accept the resignation of Principal Cory Martens. Motion carried 5-0.

New Hires – Dachel motioned and Berg seconded to hire Rachel Farrell as junior high special education teacher. Motion carried 5-0.

Other Staffing/Student Considerations-Employee Wages

-Jarvis motioned and Proehl seconded to table consideration of wage increases. Motion carried 5-0.

Trowbridge motioned and Berg seconded to adjourn at 8:45 p.m. Motion carried 5-0.

Timothy Trowbridge, President New Auburn School Board Shannon Berg, Clerk New Auburn School Board